Just Saying by Sophie Ranald



Just Saying is my second book written by Sophie Ranald, having read “It’s Not You It’s Him” last year. Based on the synopsis, I was mistaken to assume this book would be an ultra-fluffy rom-com. This book is so much more.

Alice and Joe have the world in their hands. They are in love and have promising careers as lawyers which will be sure to provide them with the life they’ve been working towards and dreaming of. Then Alice’s career takes a detour and she is forced to examine what is really important to her.

On the day she is given the bad news concerning her career path, she finds herself in a neighbourhood pub that has seen better days. While the decor is something circa 1980, she feels cared for and more in touch with her community then she ever has. She takes a job as a barmaid as a source of income until she figures out what to do next - the patrons are friendly and begin to feel like family. However, her income has decreased and it will be impossible for Alice and Joe to remain in their current home and they will need to bring in a flatmate. Much to Alice’s dismay, that new flatmate will be the first love of Joe’s life - the beautiful and ultra-friendly Zoe. Alice has to think - does Zoe want more then just a place to live?

There are important serious storylines associated with social change in this book that I won’t reveal so as not to give anything away. This book is about valuing relationships, earning and maintaining trust, being honest, and being true to yourself. The characters are likeable, and the storyline engaging. The concept of Zoe moving into their flat was one that I would not have accepted if I had been Alice, and I wonder how many women would? Why would Joe even suggest it?

I’d recommend this entertaining read for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sophie Kinsella.

Thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this book in exchange for the honest review provided here.   Just Saying publishes on July 3.

My rating: ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️/5 .

4 comments:

  1. Great review! This sounds like a really good book and I want to check it out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's great! I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete