The Wedding Dress by Danielle Steel - A Book Review


Danielle Steel is one of those authors that I turn to again and again. I love her stories of generations of a family which also capture moments of a time in history. The Wedding Dress by Danielle Steel, published in April 2020, is one of my favourites. 

Plot Summary

The book begins in 1928 with Eleanor preparing for her debut into society. Her parents, Charles and Louise, are extremely wealthy and spare no expense for this event. Indeed, Louise and Eleanor travel to Paris to have a designer dress made. It is at the debutante’s ball that Eleanor meets Alex and they begin a whirlwind romance. Alex is also extremely wealthy, having inherited a fortune from his late parents. When he proposes, Louise and Eleanor make another journey to Paris and have a wedding dress designed and fashioned for a royal wedding. This wedding dress becomes an important family heirloom which will be passed down to generations to come.

The book continues with a focus on the Great Wall Street crash of 1929 and the resulting economic depression. Successive generations are born and the story evolves to include aspects of changing values and interpersonal conflict within the family. There are the expected tragedies that have become the signature of this author. The final generation brings us to modern day with respect and appreciation of those that came before them.

Book Review

I really enjoyed this book and really felt engaged to the story throughout. The characters are extremely well developed, and likeable. I loved the glamour of the early parts of the book, the glimpse into the design process, and the descriptions of travel in the 1920’s. I was moved by the narration of the romance of between Eleanor and Alex. I also really appreciated the relationship between Eleanor and Alex and their Granddaughter Ruby, which was reminiscent of my own special relationship with my maternal Grandparents.

Audiobook Review

I listened to the audiobook version of the book which was performed by Todd McLaren. I am always a little surprised to hear a male’s voice narrate books that fit within the romance genre, but it is actually a good fit given that Danielle Steel tells a story that is from both male and female’s point of view. The narrator’s voice is clear and articulate with the perfect amount of emotion and expression. I listened to the book at my usual 1.25x which was comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend listening to the audiobook format of the book.

What I Liked About The Wedding Dress
  • Well developed, likeable characters
  • The relationships between the generations
  • A glimpse into travel in the first half of the 20th century
  • The romance between Eleanor and Alex
What I Would Have Liked to be Different
  • One section of the book jumps in time very quickly and I would have like a bit more development of this part of the story.
I Recommend The Wedding Dress to

Readers who enjoy General Fiction and Romance novels about families.

My Rating: ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️/5.

Add The Wedding Dress to your Goodreads Shelf

Similar Books I’ve Reviewed


Thank you for reading and supporting my blog.  If you enjoyed reading this post, please consider subscribing to my blog.  Have a great day!











26 comments:

  1. Oh this sounds like a book I would definitely enjoy. Thanks so much for sharing it! I will have to check it out!

    ReplyDelete
  2. It's a lovely review of a wonderful story that depict family ties, timeline, changing times and used wedding dress as a metaphor. As you have mentioned that Danielle Steel is best known for these kind of stories, so I can well imagine your enjoyment while reading and listening to the book.
    Thanks for another lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really like the sound of this book, not my usual pick but I love the generation concept! Thanks for sharing x

    ReplyDelete
  4. I can't believe I'm saying this but I've never read any Danielle Steel! I don't think she's my genre although that's a little unfair as I haven't tried her books. But I have friends who love her, so they'll be interesting in this review :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds like such a lovely read, I'll need to give it a read xx

    ReplyDelete
  6. That book sounds really good. Excellent review.

    ReplyDelete
  7. My cousin loves Danielle Steel and has read so many books from her! I'm glad you liked this book! Well written review x

    www.lynnmumbingmejia.com

    ReplyDelete
  8. This is a really great review! It sounds like a really nice romance!

    ReplyDelete
  9. This isn't usually my sort of genre but great review and it definitely sounds like an interesting read! x

    ReplyDelete
  10. I've never read a Danielle Steel. I never think of her stuff as one of my go-to genres but I love the sound of the 1920s setting here, might be worth a read!

    Sophie
    www.glowsteady.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
  11. Someone in my family was an avid fan of Danielle Steele. One day during some clearing out found a stash of her books hidden away. Well I read them. Back then, her books were transportation into another world, lifestyle far from the Atlantic rollers that crashed onto our islands beaches.

    Must admit, I love how this title was weaved into this story. Seems like there's another opportunity to be transported somewhere else.

    Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Good review. I enjoyed this book very much!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Michele! I’m glad that you enjoyed it as well!

      Delete
  13. The Wedding Dress sounds like a great book! Oook, pretty cool that it takes place in the early 1900's. Life was definitely different then. I know I definitely wasn't alive for that wall street crash, but always interesting to read stories that even have that sort of scenario. Glad you enjoyed the book overall!

    Nancy ✨ mdrnminimalists.com

    ReplyDelete